UK coronavirus: travellers arriving from 8 June must self-isolate for 14 days

Anyone arriving in the UK from abroad could be fined £1,000 if they fail to self-isolate for 14 days, the government is expected to announce.

We might be fantasising about leaving the city, or the country, now that lockdown limitations have begun to lift gradually. But the government has today told us that travel as we previously knew it might still quite a way off before returning.
The British government have stated that, from June 8, those entering the UK will be subject to a 14-day self-isolation.

Some workers will be exempt, such as medical personnel, road haulage and freight jobs, as will people moving from Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man to the UK.

Success! You’re on the list.

There have been reports of a travel bubble between the UK and France that would allow smooth flow between the two nations without an isolation period, but this is not on the cards for the moment.

Passengers will have to undergo border checks under these new restrictions and include details of where they’re staying. We would then travel to the address without using public transport and remain there for fourteen days. There will be spot checks purportedly to ensure that the isolation is adhered to, and £1,000 fines for anyone breaching the quarantine period.

Why are the new rules coming in on June 8, not right now? Home Secretary Priti Patel said the UK was introducing the regulations as a reaction to other European countries starting to relax lockdowns and reopen their borders to travellers, and as some airlines, such as EasyJet, are starting to rerun routes.